The 11 ‘Nations’ in America

There’s another way to look at how Americans divide themselves beyond the simplistic trope of “red” and “blue” states. 

Author Colin Woodard suggests there are 11 separate “nations” in America. Woodard says Americans divide themselves into “like-minded communities.” Look at the map below. Utah is part of the “Far West” nation.

The Far West: The Great Plains and the Mountain West were built by industry, made necessary by harsh, sometimes inhospitable climates. Far Westerners are intensely libertarian and deeply distrustful of big institutions, whether they are railroads and monopolies or the federal government.