Chamber to Honor Former Utah Governor as A Giant In Our City

Former Utah Governor Michael O. Leavitt will be honored as “A Giant In Our City” on April 10, 2014. The award is presented by the Salt Lake Chamber, Utah’s largest and longest-serving statewide business association, and is recognized as the most
prestigious business award given in Utah. Gov. Leavitt will be the 35th person to receive the award in its 44-year history.

An accomplished businessman and public servant, Gov. Leavitt served as Utah’s chief executive from 1993-2003. One of only two Utah governors to be elected three times, Leavitt was appointed administrator of the Environmental Protection Agency in 2003 by Pres. George W. Bush. In 2005 Pres. Bush named him secretary of the Department of Health and Human Services, a position he held until 2009. 

During his service as governor, Utah had the longest sustained economic expansion in modern state history. Among his many notable achievements, Gov. Leavitt founded Western Governors University, served as governor during 2002 Winter Olympic Games and modernized Utah’s transportation system with an expansion of I-15 in Salt Lake County.

Following his service in the Bush administration, Gov. Leavitt returned to Utah where he established Leavitt Partners, a health care intelligence firm that helps clients navigate the future as they transition to better models of care.

“Gov. Leavitt has given so much to our state throughout his remarkable career,” said Lane Beattie, president and CEO of the Salt Lake Chamber. “From his public service to his success in the private sector, he has had the vision and determination that has elevated the quality of life for all Utahns. He is very deserving of this honor.”

“Utah still benefits from the tremendous leadership Gov. Leavitt provided during his tenure as governor,” said Ron Jibson, president, CEO and chairman of Questar Corp., and chair of the Salt Lake Chamber Board of Governors. “His contributions to our business community are also surpassed only by his dedicated public service. We are excited to honor him as A Giant In Our City.”

About A Giant In Our City

The Salt Lake Chamber Board of Governors established the Giant In Our City award in 1969. The award was created to honor exceptional and distinguished public service and extraordinary professional achievement. It is considered the Chamber’s most prestigious award and is given periodically by the Chamber Board of Governors.


Giants In Our City

1970: Eric C. Aaberg

1972: Clarence Bamberger

1974: E.M. Naughton

1977: John M. and Glenn Wallace

1978: N. Eldon Tanner

1981: John W. Gallivan

1982: George S. Eccles

1984: Richard A. Van Winkle

1985: Wendell J. Ashton

1986: Arch L. Madsen

1987: B.Z. Kastler

1990: S. Chris Johnson

1992: Gov. Calvin R. Rampton

1994: G. Frank Joklik

1995: Fred S. Ball

1998: Kenneth Y. Knight

1999: Scott S. Parker

2000: Verl Topham

2001: Spencer Eccles

2002: W. Mitt Romney

2003: Don Cash

2003: Nick Rose

2003: President Gordon B. Hinckley

2005: Jon M. Huntsman

2006: James LeVoy Sorenson

2007: Larry H. Miller

2008: William H. (Bill) Nelson

2009: Roger Boyer

2009: Ellis Ivory

2010: Bishop Carolyn Tanner Irish

2011: Bishop H. David Burton

2012: Kem Gardner

2013: Harris H. Simmons

2013: A. Scott Anderson