STEM Innovation Award recipients announced

The STEM Action Center will hold its fourth annual STEM Innovation Awards in partnership with Utah Technology Council as part of the Utah Innovation Awards dinner on Thursday, April 26, 2018. Five individuals will be recognized for their contributions to STEM education statewide.

The STEM Innovation Awards recognize Utah students, teachers, counselors, administrators and mentors who are excelling in science, technology, engineering and math (STEM). Nominations were open to the general public from February to March of this year. The STEM Action Center team and the STEM Action Center Board, through a rigorous process, selected this year’s awardees: 

●    Cassandra Ivie, student at Copper Hills High School
●    Todd Monson, 8th grade science teacher at Oquirrh Hills Middle School
●    Spencer Holmgren, principal of Hillcrest Elementary School
●    Kevin Reeve, co-founder of Cache Makers and volunteer mentor
●    Rachel Fletcher, counselor at the Salt Lake Center for Science Education

Dr. Tamara Goetz, executive director of the Utah STEM Action Center, along with John Knotwell, president and CEO of Utah Technology Council will present the award. 

“It is an honor to be able to be able to recognize and celebrate the amazing efforts that these individuals have contributed to students, teachers, parents and our community,” Dr. Goetz said.  “They have made a difference in so many lives.”

The teacher, counselor, principal and mentor will be recognized and will receive a trophy and a $2,000 grant for STEM projects, while the student will receive a trophy and an iPad Mini.