Utah Taxpayers Association releases 2021 legislative scorecard

The Utah Taxpayers Association has released its 2021 Legislative Scorecard. This year the Association’s annual scorecard ranks Utah’s 104 legislators on 14 crucial taxpayer related bills from the 2021 legislative session. The bills that were rated covered key taxpayer issues such as cutting taxes, preventing tax increases, promoting equity in Utah’s tax code and ensuring economic success in the state for years to come.

Legislators voting with the Association’s position 90% of the time earn the distinction of “Friend of the Taxpayer.” Five House members and three senators earned the honor for this year.

“Legislators not only passed several targeted tax cuts, but also considered many other bills that were critical to taxpayers in the 2021 General Session.” said Rusty Cannon, Vice President of the Utah Taxpayers Association. “We congratulate these Representatives and Senators for fighting for taxpayers, good tax policy and defending fiscally conservative principles at the state capitol. Only 8 out of 104 legislators achieved this award in 2021 and we hope the public takes notice of this elite group.”

The entire 2021 Scorecard can be viewed at: www.UtahTaxpayers.org

2021 “Friend of the Taxpayer” Recipients:
House of Representatives
  • Norm Thurston – 100% (R – Provo) 
  • Walt Brooks – 100% (R – St. George) 
  • Steve Christiansen – 92.3% (R – West Jordan)
  • Jeff Moss – 90% (R – Saratoga Springs)
  • Travis Seegmiller – 90% (R – St. George)


  • Lincoln Fillmore – 92% (R – South Jordan)
  • Dan McCay – 90% (R – Riverton)
  • Jake Anderegg – 90% (R – Lehi)