Salt Lake County Announces Fireworks Restrictions

The Salt Lake County Council approved fireworks restrictions in parts of unincorporated townships in Salt Lake County today, as recommended by the Unified Fire Authority.

Mayor Ben McAdams says this is the first year that the County Council has the authority to establish fire restrictions for unincorporated Salt Lake County as a preventative measure to ensure the safety of county residents. 

Mayor McAdams and UFA Chief Michael Jensen worked to have legislation passed this year that gives the County Council the authority to put fire safety measures in place as quickly as possible. Prior to this legislation, fire restrictions for unincorporated Salt Lake County had to get the approval of the State Forester.

“Salt Lake County is the shortest path to understanding the fire danger in unincorporated county townships,” said Mayor McAdams. “The revised law allows for swifter preventative action during the dangerous fire seasons.”

County Councilmen Richard Snelgrove and Sam Granato, who sit on the UFA board, spearheaded the effort to move quickly on getting out the word on this year’s fire danger in unincorporated Salt Lake County.

“As County Council members, we want to quickly provide information to residents on dangerous fire conditions,” said Councilman Snelgrove. “We work closely with the professionals at Unified Fire Authority and our County Council colleague Chief Jensen to streamline the information.”

“Chief Jensen worked diligently with our state lawmakers to see this initiative through, and he should be commended for his efforts,” said Councilman Granato. “I was pleased to join him in urging the state legislature to make these important changes.”

More information on this year’s map of the fire restricted areas can be found on the Unified Fire Authority website, or by calling the UFA’s fire prevention bureau at (801) 743-7200.