BioUtah Partners with Utah STEM Action Center to Provide STEM Student Scholarships, Special Tickets to Utah Life Science Summit

BioUtah and the Utah STEM Action Center today announced that the two organizations will partner to support the growth and development of promising STEM-focused high school students through the Utah Life Science STEM Awards scholarships.

The 2014 Utah Life Science STEM Awards will provide two scholarships, $750 each, to high school juniors or seniors engaged in STEM (science, technology, engineering & math) activities, who aspire to make a positive impact in one or more life science disciplines.

"We are honored to partner with the Utah STEM Action Center to celebrate and support the development of STEM knowledge and skills for gifted and talented Utah high school students," said Kimball Thomson, CEO of BioUtah. "There is no better safeguard for Utah's future than to foster the growth of the aspiring scientists and engineers who will ultimately use their knowledge to improve and save lives of people throughout the world."

In addition to the scholarships, BioUtah will reserve two prime tables at the 2014 Utah Life Science Awards luncheon, one of the highlights of the annual Utah Life Science Summit, the state's premier life science event. The Utah Life Science STEM Award scholarships will be presented at the November 5 luncheon at the Grand America Hotel in Salt Lake City. Senator Orrin Hatch, Congressman Jim Matheson and Ted Stanley, winner of the 2014 Willem J. Kolff Lifetime Achievement Award, will help present the awards.

"Life sciences play a crucial role at the heart of STEM education," said Tamara Goetz, Ph.D., executive director of the Utah STEM Action Center. "We are grateful to collaborate with Utah's life science industry association, BioUtah, to shine a spotlight on the rich opportunities afforded by STEM education for brilliant and creative young scientists."

Nominations for the Utah Life Science STEM Awards scholarships will be made by high school STEM teachers. Winners will be chosen by a panel of prominent Utah scientists, engineers and leaders from industry, education and government.