Senate Democrats Elect Davis as Minority Leader

Utah's minority party in the Senate once again will be led by veteran Senator Gene Davis.

Davis won another term as Minority Leader in elecitons Monday night.

There are five Democrats in the Senate and four leadership positions.

The rest of the leadership team for the minority party:

  • Sen. Karen Mayne – Senate Minority Whip
  • Sen. Luz Robles – Assistant Senate MInority Whip
  • Sen. Jim Dabakis – Minority Caucus Manager

Davis and Mayne retain their positions from the last legislative session. Robles replaces outgoing Sen. Pat Jones as Minority Whip. Robles served as Minority Caucus Manager last session.

Newly elected Senator Jani Iwamoto is the only member of the caucus who does not hold a leadership position.