Gail Miller is the 36th Giant in Our City

Gail Miller will be honored as A Giant In Our City on March 26, 2015. 

The award is presented by the Salt Lake Chamber, Utah’s largest and longest-serving statewide business association, and is recognized as the most prestigious business award given in Utah. Mrs. Miller will be the 36th person to receive the award in its 45-year history.

Gail Miller is the owner of the Larry H. Miller Group of Companies, which is comprised of more than 80 businesses and properties operating in 46 states and employing more than 10,000 people.

Gail has a strong legacy of giving back to the communities where the LHM Group conducts business. This includes financial contributions, as well as her time and service. Gail and her late husband founded the Larry H. Miller Education Foundation, which awards college and trade school scholarships to children of her employees; the Driven 2 Teach program, which takes school history and social studies teachers to important historical sites throughout the U.S.; Larry H. Miller Charities, which donates to non-profit organizations; and the Larry H. & Gail Miller Family Foundation, which supports religious, charitable, scientific, literary and educational programs.

Her community involvement is extensive and includes her role as chair of the board of trustees of Salt Lake Community College, serving on the National Advisory Council at the University of Utah, and sitting on the board of trustees for Intermountain Healthcare. She serves on the board of Zions Bank and she is co-chair of Mayor Beckers Homeless Committee. She is also a member of the Brigham Young University President’s Leadership Council.

“There are many people in our community who are dedicated to improving our State, but Gail Miller has become a standout leader – even a ‘Giant’ in our community,” said Lane Beattie, president and CEO of the Salt Lake Chamber. “She has exhibited over and over again wisdom and leadership that has greatly blessed our community.”

“Utah has benefited for decades from the quiet, confident leadership of Gail Miller,” said Scott Anderson, president and CEO, Zions Bank, and chair of the Salt Lake Chamber Giant Nominating Committee. “Her contributions to our business community are surpassed only by her dedication to issues important to her and her family. Gail and the Miller organizations have touched multiple aspects of our lives, and her fingerprints are all over our communities: we buy cars from her dealerships; we cheer on her Jazz basketball team. We root for her Salt Lake Bees baseball team. We thrill at the car races at the Miller Motorsports Park. We eat at her restaurants. We are educated at the buildings she has built on the Salt Lake Community College campuses. Our children are educated through the scholarships she provides. Her remarkable spirit and incredible gift of hope inspires us. She is a bridge builder, connecting diverse parts of our communities together. We are thrilled to be honoring Gail as A Giant In Our City.”

The event honoring Gail Miller will be held at the Grand America, March 26, 2015. The Chamber expresses appreciation to Intermountain Healthcare and Zions Bank as Presenting Sponsors of this important community event. Additional event details including sponsorship opportunities and program information can be found at Follow @saltlakechamber on Twitter for additional announcements on the Giant in Our City Award and other key business issues and events.

About A Giant in Our City

The Salt Lake Chamber Board of Governors established the Giant In Our City award in 1969. The award was created to honor exceptional and distinguished public service and extraordinary professional achievement. It is considered the Chamber’s most prestigious award and is given periodically by the Chamber Board of Governors.

Past Giants In Our City

1970: Eric C. Aaberg

1972: Clarence Bamberger

1974: E.M. Naughton

1977: John M. and Glenn Wallace

1978: N. Eldon Tanner

1981: John W. Gallivan

1982: George S. Eccles

1984: Richard A. Van Winkle

1985: Wendell J. Ashton

1986: Arch L. Madsen

1987: B.Z. Kastler

1990: S. Chris Johnson

1992: Gov. Calvin R. Rampton

1994: G. Frank Joklik

1995: Fred S. Ball

1998: Kenneth Y. Knight

1999: Scott S. Parker

2000: Verl Topham 2001: Spencer Eccles

2002: W. Mitt Romney

2003: Don Cash

2003: Nick Rose

2003: President Gordon B. Hinckley

2005: Jon M. Huntsman

2006: James LeVoy Sorenson

2007: Larry H. Miller

2008: William H. (Bill) Nelson

2009: Roger Boyer

2009: Ellis Ivory

2010: Bishop Carolyn Tanner Irish

2011: Bishop H. David Burton

2012: Kem Gardner

2013: Harris H. Simmons

2013: A. Scott Anderson

2014: Michael O. Leavitt