Community Foundation of Utah Announces the 2015 Enlightened 50

The Community Foundation of Utah has, for the sixth year, recognized fifty individuals who are making a measurable – but often unsung – difference in the lives of Utahns.  

Called the ‘Enlightened 50’, or E-50, members were nominated by members of the community. Each of the nominees then selected five fellow nominees, and the top fifty were inducted into this expanding network at a reception held in their honor at Church and State on July 15th.  The 2015 ‘E-50’ includes individuals from all parts of Utah (from Logan to Moab) and all walks of life, who share one thing: a commitment to the common good.

“We are delighted to bring together these extraordinary people who, each in their own way, are committed to the future of our state and its residents,” said Alex Eaton, the Executive Director for the Community Foundation of Utah.

This year’s winners from across Utah include public servants and elected officials, nonprofit and business leaders, scientists and artists, educators and entrepreneurs. The criteria for this recognition are:

–       An innovator – pioneering original and sustainable approaches to the critical issues facing our state and its people

–       A builder – committed to community engagement and the common good

–       A visionary – most likely to make a profound mark on Utah’s quality of life


The 2015 E-50

Adrienne Cachelin, University of Utah

Alejandro Mora, UCLR – Utah Coalition of La Raza

Amy Stocks, Youth Rock Camp Moab and Moab Pride

Angela Romero, House District 26, Utah Legislature

Anna Brower, ACLU of Utah

Robert M. Graham, George S. and Dolores Doré Eccles Foundation

Charlotte Fife-Jepperson, West View Media

Chris Lezama, Epicenter

Coleman Riedesel, BUG Farms (Backyard Urban Gardens)

Curt Allen, Agilix

Dan Adams, CIT Bank

Derek Kitchen, Laziz Foods

Felicia Baca, Utah Arts and Museums

Forrest Crawford, Weber State

Fraser Nelson, Salt Lake County Mayor’s Office

Fred Adams, Utah Shakespeare Festival

Genevieve Atwood, Earth Science Education

Ingrid Griffee, Utah Moms for Clean Air

Jane Beckwith, Topaz Museum

Jennifer Godfrey, Salt Lake Community Action Program and Head Start

JoAnn Seghini, Midvale City

Jon Pierpont, Department of Workforce Services

Jose Enriquez, Latinos In Action (LIA)

Joseph Carbone, Eye Care 4 Kids

Julie Buchholz, GE Capital Bank

Karla VanderZanden, Canyonlands Field Institute

Karrie Galloway, Planned Parenthood Association of Utah

Kenneth Crossley, engAGE Utah

Kim Correa, The INN Between

Liza Springmeyer, Ronald McDonald House Charities

Maria Sykes, Epicenter

Mayra Cedano, Communities United / Comunidades Unidas

Michael Iverson, Central City Neighborhood Council

Patrice Arent, Utah House of Representatives Democratic Caucus Manager

Patty Mazzoni, Salt Lake Community Action Program and Head Start

Rhiana Medina, Moab Valley Multicultural Center

Richard Starley, Utah Senior Village

Robert "Archie" Archuleta, Coalition of la Raza

Ronnie Daniel, Alzheimer's Association

Sherry Ferrin, Artist

Sheryl Gillilan, Art Access

Sophia Nicholas, HEAL Utah

Stephanie Dahlstrom, Utah State University

Thierry Fischer, Utah Symphony

Tim Savage, Salt Lake Community Action Program & Head Start

Troy Williams, Equality Utah

Turner C. Bitton, Equality Utah

Weston Clark, Leader in Equity



Returning 2015 E-50

A. Scott Anderson, Zions Bank

Brian Moench, Utah Physicians for a Healthy Utah

Crystal Young-Otterstrom, Utah Cultural Alliance

Derek Dyer, Utah Arts Alliance

Diane Stewart, DS Stewart Foundation

Donna Weinholtz, Weinholtz Foundation

Jim Dabakis, Utah State Government

Lloyd Pendleton, Homeless Task Force

Matt Pacenza, HEAL Utah

Matthew Holland, Utah Valley University

Mayor Ralph Becker, Salt Lake City