Salt Lake Chamber Hosts 128th Annual Meeting and Awards Luncheon

Utah’s business leaders gathered on Thursday, September 9, 2015 at the Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek for the Salt Lake Chamber’s 128th Annual Meeting and Awards Luncheon. 

The theme for the event was “Recipe for Success.” The purpose of the Salt Lake Chamber Annual Meeting is to honor those in the community that show exemplary support by committing their time and abilities to help further the Chamber’s mission and bolster the business community, including the outgoing chair of the Salt Lake Chamber.

Speakers for the event included Lane Beattie, president and CEO of the Salt Lake Chamber, Lori Chillingworth, incoming chair of the Salt Lake Chamber Board of Governors and executive vice president at Zions Bank, and Terry Buckner, outgoing chair of the Salt Lake Chamber Board and CEO at the Buckner Company.

“Our role as a Chamber should always be to bring out and encourage the best from business and government. We must continue to build Salt Lake towards becoming a Great American City and Utah as the Wall Street of the West,” said Lori Chillingworth, incoming Salt Lake Chamber chair and executive vice president of Zion’s Bank.

“As we look around the state at all of the important needs that face both our elected officials and the business community, the Chamber continues to be committed to engaging businesses on a number of key issues. As part of this effort, the business community will provide more clarity on these issues and work toward solutions that continue to empower our economy,” said Lane Beattie, president and CEO of the Salt Lake Chamber.

Regarding the award recipients for the meeting, Lane Beattie said, “Every year it is a real challenge to review nominations and select only a few Chamber Champions from the long list of dedicated Chamber volunteers and supporters. This year’s winners were very deserving.”

Honorees for the event included the following individuals:

  • Chamber Champions:
    • Brian Garrett, Zions Bank
    • Marsha Gilford, Smith’s Food & Drug Stores
    • Dave Kadleck, Western Governors
    • Richard Walje, Rocky Mountain Power
  • Small Business of the Year: Presto Print
  • Community Partner of the Year: Envision Utah
  • Corporate Partner of the Year: Penna Powers
  • President’s Award for Excellence: Snowbird Ski and Summer Resort

The event was sponsored by: Questar, Wells Fargo, EnergySolutions, Rio Tinto, Rocky Mountain Power, Workers Compensation Fund, CBRE, Chase, and Nicholas and Company.

To learn more about the event, go to: