Keynote for the Utah Technology Council Hall of Fame Announced at Annual UTC Members Meeting Event

Apple CEO Tim Cook will keynote the Utah Technology Council’s 18th annual Hall of Fame gala event, the association revealed in a special announcement by Senator Orrin Hatch at the association’s Annual Members Meeting event in Salt Lake City.


Additionally, members were favored with remarks from keynote speaker Scott Watterson, Co-founder, Chairman and CEO of ICON Health & Fitness, the world’s largest developer and marketer of products and services for a fit and healthy life. ICON’s leading brands include NordicTrack, ProForm and Weider for home fitness and FreeMotion Fitness for the health club market. The company’s brand for fitness wearables and subscription fitness solutions is iFit. ICON’s award-winning running shoe brand is Altra Footwear.

ICON innovation leads the industry, and Scott is the main inventor for the company’s more than 200 patents and 500 trademarks. At the event, Watterson and ICON provided several items as giveaway prizes:

Following Watterson’s presentation and remarks from Utah Governor Gary R. Herbert, UTC members ratified 2015 board actions, elected board officers and trustees for 2016, and presented 2015-2016 industry awards in the following categories:

Legislators of the Year                 Rep. John Knotwell
                  Rep. Val Peterson
                  Rep. Dean Sanpei
                  Sen. Stuart Adams
                  Sen. Ann Millner
                  Sen. Howard Stephenson
Legislative Champion                 Jeff Rogers, Paul Rogers and Assoc.
STEM Champion                 Brent Petersen, Comcast
Academic Leader of the Year                 Michael Savoie, UVU
Emerging Exec of the Year                 Cody Broderick, inWhatLanguage
HR Leader of the Year                 Sue Urses, LANDESK
CTO of the Year                 Jody Bailey, Pluralsight
CFO of the Year                 Brenda Rees, ArbiterSports
Women in Tech Champion                 Kathryn Murphy, Demandware
Distinguished Service Champion                 Brent Lorimer, Workman Nydegger
Trustee of the Year                 Vance Checketts, EMC
CEO of the Year                 Frank Maylett, RizePoint

“The individuals we are acknowledging today have provided tremendous service and values to not only our industry sector and the membership of UTC, but to the entire economy of Utah and to the customers and partners they serve,” said Chet Linton, Chairman of UTC and CEO of School Improvement Network.

“We are extremely pleased at the continued growth and success of our technology sector,” said Richard R. Nelson, President and CEO of the Utah Technology Council. “While we celebrate our annual successes, particularly in the recent legislative session, UTC also looks forward to playing an even stronger role in advancing our emphasis on STEM education, and addressing our growing talent shortage, which is one of our most pressing challenges in 2016.”