Congressional News 01

Sen. Mike Lee (R-UT), newly elected Chairman of the Joint Economic Committee (JEC), released a statement following the committee’s formation and leadership election: 

”I welcome Reps. Marchant (R-TX) and Herrera Beutler (R-WA) to the Joint Economic Committee and welcome back the returning House and Senate GOP committee members and our Democratic counterparts. I am grateful for their confidence and the opportunity to lead the JEC in its important work during the 116th Congress. 

While our country is currently on strong economic footing, the measure of our country’s strength cannot be broken down solely into dollars and cents. We must look to find solutions to problems such as family affordability and stability, disconnection from work, and other features of our declining associational life.

I look forward to working with Vice Chair Maloney, Senior House Republican Schweikert. Senior Senate Democrat Heinrich, and the other committee members as we work to address these and other important issues facing our country."

Chairman Lee was appointed to the JEC in 2011 and served as Vice Chair of the Committee during the 115th  Congress.

The Republican members of the JEC are as follows:


Chairman Mike Lee (R-UT)

Sen. Ted Cruz (R-TX)

Sen. Ben Sasse (R-NE)

Sen. Tom Cotton (R-AR)

Sen. Bill Cassidy (R-LA)

Sen. Rob Portman (R-OH)


Rep. David Schweikert (R-AZ)

Rep. Darin LaHood (R-IL)

*Rep. Kenny Marchant (R-TX)

*Rep. Jaime Herrera Beutler (R-WA)

*denotes new Committee member

In addition to electing the Chair and Vice Chair, the committee members also elected Scott Winship, Ph.D., as Executive Director of the committee. Winship is widely published and has worked previously at the Manhattan Institute, the Brookings Institution, and the Pew Charitable Trusts, and he most recently led Sen. Lee’s Social Capital Project.