Growing Number of Conservatives Support Federal LGBTQ Nondiscrimination Protections

This morning, Conservatives Against Discrimination Leadership Council Co-Chairs Ileana Ros-Lehtinen and Trey Grayson announced the addition of four new Republican women, former U.S. Ambassador Nancy G. Brinker, former Colorado Attorney General Cynthia Coffman, former New Hampshire State Representative Yvonne Dean-Bailey and political commentator Ana Navarro-Cárdenas to the coalition calling for federal protections for LGBTQ Americans.

“Strong support for LGBTQ nondiscrimination protections is sweeping across the country. As we continue to grow this movement among Republicans, I am so pleased to be joined by four strong Republican women who know what it takes to win tough fights. We will never back down when it comes to realizing full equality for all in America,” former Congresswoman Ileana Ros-Lehtinen said.

“Real, lasting political movements require work to affect change person-by-person, each and every day. Conservatives must take a stand to demonstrate the rising tide of support for LGBTQ rights and protections,” former Kentucky Secretary of State Trey Grayson said.

The Council now includes 16 current and former elected officials and conservative thought leaders pushing for nondiscrimination protections based on sexual orientation and gender identity. A recent poll revealed 62 percent of Republicans support laws that would protect LGBTQ Americans in employment, housing, and public spaces.

“The sea change in support of LGBTQ rights and acceptance across the country in recent years has been inspiring, yet recent efforts to roll back basic human rights at the state level make clear that important work by our elected leaders remains to be done,” former Ambassador Nancy G. Brinker said. “Working in support of commonsense and conservative nondiscrimination protections in Congress is a necessary next step to finally codify full equality, freedom and fairness into law. I’m proud to join Ileana Ros-Lehtinen, Trey Grayson and the Conservatives Against Discrimination Leadership Council to advance these important efforts.”

“For too long across America, the LGBTQ community has been treated as second class citizens,” said former Colorado Attorney General Cynthia Coffman. “That’s why, as Attorney General, I fought to ensure that every Coloradoan had the right to fair and equal treatment and protection under the law. I’m honored to be a part of the Conservatives Against Discrimination Leadership Council because this nationwide effort in support of expanding LGBTQ nondiscrimination protections has never been more important.”

“As President Reagan famously said, ‘now is a time for choosing.’ Everyone across America should join in the fight to ensure that fairness and equality can be realized by the LGBTQ community. I’m pleased to join in this effort to expand the rights and privileges of this great country to all,” political commentator Ana Navarro-Cárdenas said.

“If conservatives and Republicans want to grow their base and appeal to millennial and Gen-Z voters, who overwhelmingly support LGBTQ rights, we need to begin by taking a  principled stand for what is fundamentally right,” said former New Hampshire State Representative Yvonne Dean-Bailey. “We must take a stand against discrimination and fight for the expansion of freedom and liberty to everyone, so we all have the opportunity to thrive in the greatest country in the world. I’m pleased to join Conservatives Against Discrimination so I can build upon the important work I have achieved in New Hampshire to ensure that every LGBTQ American is treated with respect and fairness.”

The Leadership Council for Conservatives Against Discrimination includes current and former Republican elected officials and conservative thought leaders who support comprehensive protections for LGBTQ Americans. Every member is in agreement with the Conservatives Against Discrimination Guiding Principles, which you can read here. Conservatives Against Discrimination is a national coalition of conservative Americans who believe LGBTQ Americans should be free from discrimination.

Leadership Council Members: 

  • Trey Grayson, Secretary of State of Kentucky, 2004-2011
  • Ileana Ros-Lehtinen, Member of the U.S. House of Representatives, 27th District, Florida, 1989-2019
  • Greg Ballard, Mayor of Indianapolis, Indiana, 2008-2016
  • Michael Berlucchi, Member of the Virginia Beach City Council, 2019-Present
  • Nancy G. Brinker, U.S. Ambassador to Hungary 2001-2003; Founder, Susan G. Komen and The Promise Fund
  • Cynthia Coffman, Attorney General of Colorado, 2015-2019
  • Carlos Curbelo, United States Representative, Florida, 26th District, 2015-2019
  • Sarah Davis, Member of the Texas House of Representatives, 134th District, 2011-2021
  • Yvonne Dean-Bailey, Member of the New Hampshire House of Representatives, District Rockingham 32, 2015-2018
  • Mickey Edwards, United States Representative, Oklahoma, 5th District, 1977 to 1993
  • J. John Fluharty, Executive Director of the Republican Party of Delaware, 2012-2015
  • Steve Gunderson, United States Representative, Wisconsin, 3rd District, 1981-1997
  • Jim Kolbe, United States Representative, Arizona, 5th District, 1985-2003; 8th District, 2003-2007
  • Ana Navarro-Cárdenas, Political Commentator
  • Julie Raque-Adams, Member of the Kentucky Senate, 36th District, 2015-Present
  • Holly Raschein, Member of the Florida House of Representatives, 120th District, 2012-2020
  • Stephen H. Urquhart, Member of the Utah Senate, 29th District, 2009-2016
  • Dan Zwonitzer, Member of the Wyoming House of Representatives, 43rd District, 2005-Present

For more information, please visit