New Unified Economic Opportunity Commission announced

The Utah Governor’s Office of Economic Opportunity (Go Utah) announced today the inaugural meeting of the Unified Economic Opportunity Commission (EC). The Utah State Legislature created this commission as part of H.B. 348, which was passed during the 2021 legislative session.

“The solutions-oriented approach of the EC sets this commission apart,” said Gov. Cox. “I’m excited to work with state elected leaders, cabinet members, local officials, and others as we collaborate and create new pathways to economic success.”

This unique commission will convene stakeholders to develop solutions to the most critical topics facing our state’s economy. It will also review and create new economic strategies and programs to deal with timely topics. Other purposes of the commission include aligning economic efforts and incentive programs, helping support and align education and industry partnerships to strengthen the state’s workforce, and establishing subcommittees that serve as conveners to facilitate policy development. 

“I believe the reason Utah has a strong economy is that we’re never satisfied with our current success; instead we continue to look for ways to improve,” said Senate president J. Stuart Adams. “The work of this commission will help take our strong economy to even greater heights as we build up the workforce, advance education and promote smart growth.”

“This spring, the Legislature kick-started a new chapter in Utah’s economic prosperity playbook,” said Speaker Brad Wilson. “It’s clear that with our incredibly diverse economy and unparalleled workforce, Utah is an attractive place to be, and our economic development focus needs to shift from importing jobs to broadening success at home. I’m excited to serve on the commission and engage in the hard work of turning our playbook into reality.” 

Unified Economic Opportunity Commission members include:
Gov. Spencer J. Cox, EC chair
Dan Hemmert, EC vice-chair, executive director, Go Utah
President Stuart Adams, Utah State Senate
Speaker Brad Wilson, Utah House of Representatives
Craig Buttars, commissioner, Utah Department of Agriculture and Food
Brian Steed, executive director, Utah Department of Natural Resources
Margaret Busse, executive director, Utah Department of Commerce
Sophia Dicaro, executive director, Utah Governor’s Office of Planning and Budget
Casey Cameron, executive director, Utah Department of Workforce Services
Syd Dickson, Utah State superintendent of Public Instruction, Utah State Board of Education
Dave Woolstenhulme, commissioner of Higher Education, Utah System of Higher Education
Dawn Ramsey, mayor, City of South Jordan
Carlos Braceras, executive director, Utah Department of Transportation
Miles Hansen, president and CEO, World Trade Center Utah
Theresa Foxley, president and CEO, Economic Development Corporation of Utah
Stephen Lisonbee, Senior Adviser to the Governor for Rural Affairs
Gage Froerer, commissioner, Weber County
Claudia O’Grady, vice president of Multifamily Finance, Utah Housing Corporation

“We’re thrilled to announce the creation of the new Unified Economic Opportunity Commission,” said Dan Hemmert, Go Utah’s executive director. “This commission will help with the state’s growth, education and workforce development, our state’s incentive program, as well as other key economic issues in our state. We want to thank each member for their time and effort that will be put into serving on this commission.”

The first meeting for the commission will be held on June 30, 2021, at 8:00 a.m. at the Utah State Capitol Building, room 445. This is a public meeting and media is invited to attend.