Congressman Blake Moore’s co-sponsored Congressional Gold Medal bill signed into law by President Biden

Today, President Joe Biden signed H.R. 5142 into law, which would posthumously award the Congressional Gold Medal to the 13 U.S. military servicemembers who were killed in Afghanistan on August 26, 2021. Co-sponsored by Representative Blake Moore (R-UT), Representative Lisa McClain (R-MI) introduced this bipartisan bill in the House in August. Senators Steve Daines (R-MT) and Elizabeth Warren (D-MA) introduced the companion bill in the Senate in September.

“These 13 fallen servicemembers gave the ultimate sacrifice to our nation on foreign soil, and I am grateful their service will be forever remembered,” said Rep. Blake Moore. “They each represent the best of America’s strength, and we extend our gratitude to them and their families.”

“I’m glad these fallen servicemembers will finally receive the recognition they deserve for their bravery and sacrifice for our country,” said Rep. Lisa McClain. “Thank you to the 326 House members and 68 Senators who cosponsored this legislation and helped it quickly become law.”

Rep. Blake Moore joined the Utah community in honoring Staff Sgt. Darin Taylor Hoover, one of the fallen servicemembers commemorated by this legislation. Rep. Moore attended his vigil at the Utah State Capitol and his funeral service before he was laid to rest at Arlington National Cemetery. He also spoke on the House floor to remember Staff Sgt. Hoover’s bravery and devotion to our nation.

This legislation will award the Congressional Gold Medal to Staff Sgt. Darin Taylor Hoover, Sgt. Johanny Rosario Pichardo, Sgt. Nicole Gee, Cpl. Hunter Lopez, Cpl. Daegan Page, Cpl. Humberto Sanchez, Cpl. David Lee Espinoza, Lance Cpl. Jared Schmitz, Lance Cpl. Rylee McCollum, Lance Cpl. Dylan Merola, Lance Cpl. Kareem Nikoui, Hospitalman Maxton Soviak and Staff Sgt. Ryan Knauss.