Utah Senate committee assignments updates

President J. Stuart Adams appointed Minority Whip Sen. Luz Escamilla to the Senate Rules Committee as Sen. Karen Mayne fights cancer.

Traditionally, senators are assigned to two standing committees, and members of the majority and minority leadership have three standing committee assignments. Currently, every member of the minority caucus has three committee assignments instead of the standard two. Following a review of the committee assignments, appropriate adjustments were implemented to ensure appointments are fair and equal.

“We took a careful and deliberate action to correct inequitable committee assignments,” said Sen. Mayne. “I appreciate President Adams’ support to make certain our caucus is fairly represented.”

“I support Sen. Mayne and the minority leadership decision to make committee assignments adjustments, and they have my full support,” said President Adams.

Sen. Mayne, with the support of President Adams, made the following changes to committee assignments:

  • Sen. Luz Escamilla will now serve on the Senate Rules Committee.
  • Sen. Kathleen Riebe will continue serving on Senate Education Committee and Senate Transportation, Public Utilities, Energy, and Technology Committee.
  • Sen. Derek Kitchen will continue serving on Senate Economic Development and Workforce Services Committee and Senate Judiciary, Law Enforcement, and Criminal Justice Committee.