Two Salt Lake City teachers honored with Presidential Awards for excellence in mathematics and science teaching

Heidi Boogert, a third grade teacher at Highland Park Elementary in Salt Lake City and Jennifer Carver-Hunter, a fifth grade teacher at Mountain View Elementary in Salt Lake City were named as recipients of the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching, the nation’s highest honor for teachers of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM, including Computer Science). Carver-Hunter was also a finalist for 2022 Utah Teacher of the Year.

The award recognizes those teachers have both deep content knowledge of the subjects they teach and the ability to motivate and enable students to be successful in those areas. Since the program’s inception, more than 5,200 teachers have been recognized for their contributions in the classroom and to their profession.

Awardees reflect the expertise and dedication of the Nation’s teaching corps, and they demonstrate the positive impact of excellent teachers on student achievement. The National Science Foundation administers PAEMST on behalf of The White House Office of Science and Technology Policy.

Read the briefing from the White House here.