USBE: Skyline, Logan, West, and Hillcrest students named 2022 U.S. Presidential Scholars

The U.S. Department of Education today named 161 Presidential Scholars for 2022. Among them are:

  • Alan Z. H. Mo, of Murray, a student at Skyline High School in the Granite School District. He is a Career and Technical Education scholar.
  • Gary Zhan, of Logan, a student at Logan High School in the Logan School District.
  • Malavika G. Singh, of Salt Lake City, a student at West High School in the Salt Lake City School District. She is an arts scholar.
  • Danju Zoe Liu, of Sandy, a student at Hillcrest High School in the Canyons School District.

The White House Commission on Presidential Scholars selects scholars annually based on their academic success, artistic and technical excellence, essays, school evaluations and transcripts, as well as a demonstrated commitment to community service and leadership.

Each scholar is asked to name an influential teacher. Utah’s 2022 U.S. Presidential Scholars Program’s Distinguished Teachers are:

  • Robert Fox, computer science teacher at Granite Technical Institute (nominated by Alan Z. H. Mo).
  • Christina Howell, science and chemistry teacher at Logan High School (nominated by Gary Zhan)
  • Jenny Nicholas, International Baccalaureate theory of knowledge teacher at West High School (nominated by Malavika G. Singh)
  • Joshua Long, theatre teacher at Hillcrest High School (nominated by Danju Zoe Liu)

More information about the program: