Gov. Spencer J. Cox presents Award for Excellence to state employees

Twenty-three state employees were recipients of the Governor’s Award for Excellence. Gov. Spencer J. Cox presented the awards during a ceremony Tuesday afternoon at the Kearns Mansion. The awards are an annual event designed to recognize the contributions of state employees in the categories of innovation and efficiency, energy and environment, heroism, leadership, and outstanding public service. The award recipients were selected as examples of distinguished service and dedication to the citizens of Utah.

“It is an honor to spend the afternoon with these amazing people,” Gov. Cox said. “We are surrounded by fantastic employees who work everyday to make the state a better place to live, and I could not be more proud of their amazing efforts.”

The Governor’s Award for Excellence was created in 2007 as a way to recognize the outstanding work of state employees and honor their achievements. 

Learn more about the recipients of the 2022 Governor’s Award for Excellence and see photos of the event. 

The recipients of the 2022 Governor’s Awards for Excellence are:

Outstanding Public Service: Elizabeth Blaylock – Department of Commerce; Ryan Cowley – Lt. Governor’s Office; Melissa Stevens Dimond  – Department. of Health and Human Services; Robert Erickson – Department of Agriculture and Food; Michael Jones – Department of Financial Institutions; Raechel Lizon – Board of Pardons and Parole; Matthew Morris – Department of Workforce Services; CPT Vincent E. Pierce – Utah Army National Guard; Marty Windham – Labor Commission. Jennifer Napier-Pearce – Governor’s Office. 

Leadership: Stephanie Burnham – Department of Government Operations; Heidi Clausen – Department of Insurance; Anthony Jaimes – Capitol Preservation Board; Brian Kenney – Department of Corrections; Kathy Quarnberg – Department of Public Safety; Scott Smith – Utah State Tax Commission; Chuck Spence – Governor’s Office of Economic Opportunity; Nate Talley – Governor’s Office of Planning and Budget; 

Heroism: Burke DeGroff – Department of Transportation;

Innovation and Efficiency: Janet Long –  Department of Alcoholic Beverage Services; Jennifer Yim – Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice;

Energy and Environment: Dr. Nancy Daher – Department of Environmental Quality; Ian Wright – Department of Cultural and Community Engagement.