USBE elects James Moss as Chair for 2022 – 2023

Leadership Team will also include Molly Hart and Jennie Earl as Vice Chairs

The Utah State Board of Education (USBE) elected James Moss to serve as chair of the 15-member governing board.

Moss, first elected to the board in 2020, will serve a two-year term as chair and be joined by Molly Hart and Jennie Earl as vice chairs. The leadership terms begin in 2023. Board members elect leadership biennially using a preferential voting method and have the option of creating one, two, or three vice chair seats.

Moss, of Midway, is a practicing attorney and a managing partner of Payne & Fears’ Salt Lake City office. He previously served on the Utah State Charter School Board, the Wasatch High School Community Council, and the Utah Valley Chamber of Commerce Education Committee. Moss represents District 12, which includes much of northeastern Utah.

Sandy resident Molly Hart was elected as first vice chair. She is the principal of Albion Middle School in Canyons School District and has worked as a substitute teacher, paraprofessional, teacher, assistant principal, and principal in multiple states at all levels from elementary to university. She was first elected to the board in 2020. Hart represents District 10, an area that covers northwestern Utah.

Jennie Earl of Morgan was elected second vice chair. First elected in 2018, she works as a math teacher. Earl represents District 1, which comprises most of northern Utah. She has also taught special education students and served on several coalitions that follow federal and state legislation.