Nominees announced for 2nd District Court vacancy

The Second District Judicial Nominating Commission has selected nominees for a vacancy on the Second District Court. This position results from the retirement of Judge David M. Connors, March 16, 2023.

The nominees for the vacancy are: Cara Baldwin, General Counsel, R-Zero Systems, Inc.; Catherine Conklin, Commissioner, Second District Court; Joseph Kjar, Attorney, Fabian VanCott; Bryan Memmott, Judge, Plain City Justice Court, Woods Cross Justice Court, South Ogden Justice Court, South Weber Justice Court; Jason Nelson, Deputy County Attorney, Davis County Attorney’s Office.

Written comments can be submitted to the Second District Judicial Nominating Commission at [email protected] or Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice, P.O. Box 142330, Salt Lake City, UT 84114-2330. The deadline for written comments is noon Dec. 19, 2022.

The Nominating Commission may request further information or conduct an investigation of the nominees after reviewing public comments. After the public comment period, the names will be sent to Gov. Spencer J. Cox, who will have 30 days to make an appointment. Gov. Cox’s appointee is subject to confirmation by the Utah Senate.