Nominees Announced for Three 4th District Court Vacancies

The 4th District Judicial Nominating Commission has selected nominees for three vacancies on the 4th District Court. 

These vacancies result from the retirements of Judge Fred Howard, effective Dec. 1, 2016, Judge Claudia Laycock, January 1, 2017, and the confirmation of Judge David Mortensen to the Utah Court of Appeals, June 15, 2016.  The 4th Judicial District includes Juab, Millard, Utah, and Wasatch counties. 

The nominees for the vacancy are: Rod Andreason, shareholder, Kirton McConkie; Jared Eldridge, county attorney, Juab County; Joshua Faulkner, commissioner, Fourth District Juvenile Court; Anthony Howell, chief counsel, attorney, Utah County Public Defenders; Robert Lunnen, criminal division chief, United States Attorney’s Office; John Penrod, attorney, Springville City; Kraig Powell, attorney, Attorney Kraig Powell, PLLC.

Written comments can be submitted to the 4th District Judicial Nominating Commission Chair Dale Whitlock at [email protected] or Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice, P.O. Box 142330, Salt Lake City, UT 84114-2330.  The deadline for written comments is noonSept. 19, 2016. The Nominating Commission may request further information or conduct an investigation of the nominees after reviewing public comments.  After the public comment period, the names will be sent to Gov. Gary R. Herbert, who will have 30 days to make an appointment. Gov. Herbert’s appointee is subject to confirmation by the Utah Senate.