Nominees announced for two Court of Appeals vacancies

The Appellate Judicial Nominating Commission has selected nominees for two vacancies on the Utah Court of Appeals. 

These vacancies result from the retirements of Judge J. Fredric Voros, Jr. and Judge Stephen Roth, effective August 1, 2017.  

The nominees are: Christopher Ballard, assistant solicitor general, Utah Attorney General’s Office; Nicole Deforge, shareholder/attorney, Fabian VanCott; Diana Hagen, first assistant U.S. attorney, U.S. Attorney’s Office; Ryan Harris, judge, Third District Court; John Luthy, attorney, Peck Hadfield Baxter & Moore, LLC; Margaret Plane, city attorney, Salt Lake City Corporation; Derek Pullan, judge, Fourth District Court; Kevin Simon, associate attorney, Strachan Strachan & Simon P.C.

Written comments may be submitted to the Appellate Judicial Nominating Commission Chair Kerry Gibson at [email protected] or Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice, P.O. Box 142330, Salt Lake City, UT 84114-2330.  The deadline for written comments is noon May 26, 2017. The Nominating Commission may request further information or conduct an investigation of the nominees after reviewing public comments.  After the public comment period, the names will be sent to Gov. Gary R. Herbert, who will have 30 days to make an appointment. Gov. Herbert’s appointee is subject to confirmation by the Utah Senate.