During the Utah Legislative session, HB 281 was passed and signed this month by Gov. Herbert.
That means, beginning this year, any Utah resident who will be 18 on or before Election Day, November 6th, will be eligible to vote in the June Primary Election. This means that students, under Utah law, ages 16 & 17-years old, can PREREGISTER to vote and that all eligible 17-year olds will automatically receive their Primary ballot in the mail.
You can PRE-REGISTER at voter.utah.gov if you have a valid Utah Driver License. Otherwise, you can register in person at the Clerk’s Office: 2380 Washington Blvd, Ste 320, or any of the five County Libraries.
Regarding the change in the law, Weber County Clerk/Auditor, Ricky Hatch said, “Studies show that engaging people in the political process at an early age increases the chance that they will participate throughout their lives. Allowing youth who can vote in November to also vote in the primary helps establish that political engagement.”
The Primary will be held Tuesday, June 26th and ballots will begin arriving in voters’ mailboxes around the 7th of June.