Legislative primary election roundup

Voters chose party nominees in several Utah House and Senate races on Tuesday night.

One of the most notable races saw incumbent Rep. Ray Ward skate past hardline conservative challenger Phill Wright in  HD19. Wright has been a champion for the caucus/convention system while pushing the GOP’s fight against SB54. Wright lost the delegate vote at the Davis County convention but forced a primary against Ward. Ward ended up winning with 67% of the vote on Tuesday night.

The four-way Democratic primary in HD24 to replace Rep. Rebecca Chavez-Houck, who is retiring, saw Jen Dailey-Provost with a lead of fewer than 100 votes over Igor Limansky on Tuesday night. 

Senate District 8 saw incumbent Sen. Brian Zehnder leading Jaren Davis for the GOP nomination by a little more than 500 votes. Zehnder hopes to win the race to finish out the final two years of Brian Shiozawa’s term.

Jim Dabakis is retiring in SD2, and Salt Lake City Councilman Derek Kitchen was leading Jennifer Plumb by just over 500 votes for the Democratic nomination on Tuesday evening. The winner of the race should go on to win the seat easily as this is one of the most heavily Democratic districts in the state.


SD26 – Eileen Gallagher appears to have won the Democratic nomination in this race, while Republican Brian Gorum had a 500-vote lead in the race for the GOP nomination.

SD3 – Jeremy Egan was leading Marlin Baer for the GOP nomination to face Democrat Gene Davis in November.

SD17 – Rep. Scott Sandall was leading Clark Davis by 700 votes for the GOP nomination to take the seat of the retiring Sen. Pete Knudson.

HD4 – Dan Johnson leads Greg Merrill by more than 250 votes for the GOP nomination to replace Rep. Ed Redd.

HD7 – Kyle Andersen leads Lisa Roskelley for the GOP nomination. Andersen was appointed to the seat after Rep. Justin Fawson resigned.

HD8 – Steve Waldrip holds a 500-vote lead over Jason Kyle in the contest for the GOP nomination in Rep. Gage Froerer’s seat.

HD10 – Lorraine Brown has a 300-vote lead over Terry Schow for the GOP nomination. The two are vying to fill Dixon Pitcher’s seat.

HD27 – Brady Brammer is ahead of Jared Carman for the GOP nomination by 700 votes in the seat left open after Rep. Mike Kennedy decided to run for U.S. Senate.

HD57 – Jon Hawkins is on track to win the Republican nomination to replace Rep. Brian Greene who is retiring. Hawkins leads Alexander Carter by 600 votes.

HD61 – Marsha Judkins leads Parl Johnson by 700 votes for the GOP nomination. The race is to fill the seat left open by Keith Grover who is running for the Utah Senate.

HD69 – Incumbent Republican Christine Watkins appears to have fended off a primary challenge from Jae Potter.

HD71 – Incumbent Republican Brad Last has won the GOP nomination, defeating primary challenger Mark Borowiak.