Local court reporter elected to NCRA leadership


The National Court Reporters Association (NCRA), the country’s leading organization representing stenographic court reporters, captioners, and legal videographers, announced that Debra A. Dibble, a freelance court reporter from Salt Lake City, Utah, was installed as 2018-2019 Secretary-Treasurer during the Association’s Convention & Expo being held in New Orleans, La., Aug. 2-5.

Dibble is a 2 8- year court reporter veteran who has worked as a deposition reporter in Salt Lake City, Utah since 2002. She holds the nationally recognized professional certifications of Registered Diplomate Reporter (RDR), Certified Realtime Reporter (CRR), and Certified Realtime Captioner (CRC), and has qualified in the National Speed Competition and National Realtime Competition multiple times. Dibble has also worked as a reporter in Memphis, Tenn. She has been a broadcast captioner and CART provider since 2010.

At the national level, Dibble has served as an NCRA Chief Examiner. She served as a delegate to the National Committee of State Associations from 2008 to 2012. She also has served three terms on NCRA’s Board of Directors, and is currently serving the last year of a three-year term as Secretary-Treasurer.

In 2010, the Utah Court Reporters Association (UCRA) honored her with its Distinguished Service Award. Dibble has also served in numerous volunteer positions at the state level including as a director and president of UCRA.

2018-2019 officers also installed include:

  • President Sue A. Terry, FAPR, RPR, CRR, CRC, a freelance reporter from Springfield, Ohio;
  • President-elect Roy M. Curry, Jr., (Max), RPR, CRI, a court reporter and firm owner from Franklin, Tenn.; and
  • Vice President Christine Phipps, RPR, a court reporter and firm owner from North Palm Beach, Fla.

In addition, three new members of NCRA’s Board of Directors were also installed to serve three-year terms. They include: Stephen H. Clark, CRC, Washington, D.C.; Cindy L. Isaacsen, RPR, Shawnee, Kan.; Karyn D. Menck, RDR, CRR, CRC, Nashville, Tenn.; and Cathy L. Penniston, RPR, CRI, Ottumwa, Iowa, who was elected to serve a two-year term.

Returning directors include: Meredith A. Bonn, RPR, Webster, N.Y.; Tonya J. Kaiser, RPR, CMRS, Fort Wayne, Ind.; and Christine J. Willette, RDR, CRR, CRC, Wausau, Wis., NCRA Immediate Past President.