Tax Commission designates interim executive director

Utah State Tax Commissioners designated a 32-year veteran of the agency as its interim executive director.

Scott W. Smith, who has served as the deputy executive director since 2011, was designated for the interim position previously held by Barry C. Conover. Mr. Conover retired after 45 years at the Tax Commission.

Commission Chair John L. Valentine said, “We are thrilled to have a solid leader assume the role of the interim executive director for the Tax Commission. Scott was the unanimous choice of the four commissioners to assume this responsibility.”

Prior to being named deputy executive of the 732-employee state agency, Mr. Smith worked as the deputy director of the Tax Commission Auditing Division.

A certified public accountant, Mr. Smith is an accounting graduate of Brigham Young University.

Tax Commissioners appoint the executive director in consultation with the Governor and the consent of the State Senate.