Salt Lake Chamber announces Fred Lampropoulos as the Chamber’s 40th Giant in our City

SL Chamber Logo 1000


The Salt Lake Chamber, Utah’s largest and longest-standing statewide business association, announced Fred Lampropoulos as the 40th Giant in our City.

The award honors those with exceptional and distinguished service and extraordinary professional achievement, and is widely recognized as the most prestigious business award given in Utah.  

Fred Lampropoulos founded Merit Medical in 1987 with the goal of becoming the world’s most customer-focused health care company. Now, 30 years later, Merit is a leading manufacturer and marketer of disposable medical devices and holds over 800 patents and pending applications representing inventions used in diagnostic, interventional and therapeutic procedures. With manufacturing facilities in the United States, The Netherlands, France, Ireland, Mexico, Brazil, Singapore and Australia, Merit Medical employs close to 6,000 people and generates nearly a $1 billion in global revenues.

“When you consider that Utah’s life sciences sector accounts for almost 8 percent of the state’s GDP, about $13 billion annually, you see just how big of an impact Fred Lampropoulos and Merit Medical has on Utah’s economy,” said Derek Miller, president and CEO of the Salt Lake Chamber. “It’s not just Fred’s business acumen that has earned him his success, but also his leadership style, his drive and determination, which he credits to his time as a Special Forces Officer in the U.S. Army, that have helped make Merit Medical what it is today. This is a man who has not only built a billion dollar company with the goal of saving people’s lives, but a leader who has also made it his mission to build people up.”

Prior to founding Merit Medical, Mr. Lampropoulos served as Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Utah Medical. He has served as Chairman and CEO of Merit Medical since 1987. He founded Sentir Semiconductors in 1991, which was later merged into Merit Medical. Mr. Lampropoulos is extremely involved in our community and has served on many boards. He is the recipient of several awards, including the Governor’s Medal for Science and Technology, the Utah National Guard Bronze Minuteman Award, and the Boy Scouts of America Silver Beaver Award. Mr. Lampropoulos was inducted into the Utah Business Hall of Fame, the Utah Technology Hall of Fame, and the University of Utah College of Science Hall of Fame.

“Fred Lampropoulos is a self-taught innovator, a man of action, character and integrity, and a leader who encourages and uplifts his employees with his vision and compassion,” said Steve Starks, chair of the Salt Lake Chamber Board of Governors. “We are pleased to be honoring Fred Lampropoulos with this year’s Giant in our City award.”

Fred Lampropoulos will officially be presented with the award at the ceremony on May 31, 2019, at the Grand America Hotel in Salt Lake City.

“I am honored and humbled to be recognized with such a wonderful award,” said Fred P. Lampropoulos, Chairman and CEO of Merit Medical. “I am grateful to my business partners and board members for their assistance and guidance over the years. I feel fortunate to have been able to improve people’s lives with medical products and to help provide jobs for many of our citizens. I look forward to continuing my work in this great community that has been so good to me.”

Additional information, including sponsorship opportunities and program information, can be found at:

About the Chamber

The Salt Lake Chamber is Utah’s largest business association and Utah’s business leader. A statewide chamber of commerce with members in all 29 Utah counties, the Chamber represents 8,000 businesses and approximately 500,000 Utah jobs—nearly half the workforce of our state. With roots that date back to 1887, the Chamber stands as the voice of business, supports its members’ success and champions community prosperity.

About A Giant in our City

The Salt Lake Chamber Board of Governors established the Giant in our City award in 1969. The award was created to honor exceptional and distinguished public service and extraordinary professional achievement. It is considered the Chamber’s most prestigious award and is given periodically by the Chamber Board of Governors.

Past Giant in our City Recipients

1970: Eric C. Aaberg

1972: Clarence Bamberger

1974: E.M. Naughton

1977: John M. and Glenn Wallace

1978: N. Eldon Tanner

1981: John W. Gallivan

1982: George S. Eccles

1984: Richard A. Van Winkle

1985: Wendell J. Ashton

1986: Arch L. Madsen

1987: B.Z. Kastler

1990: S. Chris Johnson

1992: Gov. Calvin R. Rampton

1994: G. Frank Joklik

1995: Fred S. Ball

1998: Kenneth Y. Knight

1999: Scott S. Parker

2000: Verl Topham

2001: Spencer Eccles

2002: W. Mitt Romney

2003: Don Cash

2003: Nick Rose

2003: President Gordon B. Hinckley

2005: Jon M. Huntsman

2006: James LeVoy Sorenson

2007: Larry H. Miller

2008: William H. (Bill) Nelson

2009: Roger Boyer

2009: Ellis Ivory

2010: Bishop Carolyn Tanner Irish

2011: Bishop H. David Burton

2012: Kem Gardner

2013: Harris H. Simmons

2013: A. Scott Anderson

2014: Michael O. Leavitt

2015: Gail Miller

2016: Ron Jibson

2017: Lane Beattie

2018: Senator Orrin Hatch