Finalists Announced for Governor’s Excellence in Energy Awards

The Office of Energy Development is excited to announce the finalists for Gov. Gary R. Herbert’s second annual Governor’s Excellence in Energy Awards ceremony, to be held during the luncheon plenary session at the Governor’s Energy Development Summit on June 4 at the Salt Palace Convention Center.  


Energy Community Leader of the Year

  • Brennan Wood, Cedar City – Iron County Office of Economic Development
  • Intermountain Healthcare
  • Jeff Duncan, Anadarko Petroleum Corporation

Energy Innovator of the Year 

  • EkoCoke: Clean Coke Technology
  • Enel Green Power North America, Inc.
  • Stephen Connor, S.J. Quinney College of Law

Environmental Leader of the Year

  • Burton Lumber
  • First Wind
  • Rio Tinto Kennecott 

These nine award finalists were selected from among dozens of worthy applications, all of which reflected the impressive variety of energy development activities underway in Utah.  Please join us at the Governor’s Energy Development Summit on June 3-4 to recognize the Governor’s Excellence in Energy Award recipients and other finalists, all of whom are leaders in the advancement of Utah’s energy future.
The Governor’s Energy Development Summit will continue to be the most important energy forum in the Intermountain West, helping position Utah for an exciting energy future characterized by a diversity of resources, responsible practices and steady economic growth.

Online registration for the 2014 Summit is still available at, and day-of-event registration will be available for a limited number of attendees.