Nominees announced for two 4th District Court vacancies

SALT LAKE CITY – The Fourth District Judicial Nominating Commission has selected nominees for two vacancies on the Fourth District Court.  These vacancies result from the retirements of Judge James Taylor, January 1, 2021 and Judge Lynn Davis, January 1, 2021.

The nominees for the vacancies are: Yaiko Carranza, partner, Moody Brown Law; Robert Lund, assistant attorney, United States Attorney’s Office; Matthew Morrise, attorney, Utah County Public Defender Association; Sean Petersen, commissioner, Fourth District Court; Denise Porter, member, Utah Board of Pardons and Parole; Douglas Thompson, attorney, Utah County Public Defender Association.

Written comments can be submitted to the Fourth District Judicial Nominating Commission at [email protected] or Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice, P.O. Box 142330, Salt Lake City, UT 84114-2330.  The deadline for written comments is noon November 9, 2020. The Nominating Commission may request further information or conduct an investigation of the nominees after reviewing public comments.  After the public comment period, the names will be sent to Gov. Gary R. Herbert, who will have 30 days to make an appointment. Gov. Herbert’s appointee is subject to confirmation by the Utah Senate