Utah Senate requests public comment on judicial nominees

SALT LAKE CITY – The Utah Senate Judicial Confirmation Committee is seeking public comment on attorneys Denise Porter and Ronald Russell who were appointed by Governor Gary Herbert as judges for the 4th District Court.

Those who desire to comment should contact Utah Senate Judicial Confirmation committee staff, Jerry Howe at the Office of Legislative Research and General Counsel, by 5:00 p.m. Tuesday, December 15, 2020, at the Utah State Capitol, House Building, Suite W210, PO Box 145210, Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-5210. All statements should include the respondent’s name, telephone number and mailing address.

The Senate Judicial Confirmation Committee plans to hold a public hearing, then issue a recommendation to the full Senate. If confirmed by the Senate, Porter and Russell will fill vacancies left by the retirement of Judge James Taylor and Judge Lynn Davis, January 1, 2021.

The 4th Judicial District includes Juab, Millard and Wasatch Counties.