Honoring Utah’s Business Champions

The 127th Annual Meeting for the Salt Lake Chamber will be on Tuesday, August 26th.

 This meeting provides a great platform to recognize several of the many outstanding volunteers and community leaders for the difference they make in business, the community and to the Chamber. We’d like to congratulate the following individuals and groups who will be honored at the upcoming Annual Meeting:

Chamber Champions:

  • Abby Albrecht, Granite Construction Company
  • Camilla Edsberg, Hope Gallery and Museum of Fine Art
  • Jonathan Hafen, Parr Brown Gee & Loveless
  • Debra Hoyt, Questar Corporation
  • Jonathan Johnson, Chair, Overstock.com

President’s Award: The Utah Transit Authority

As Utah’s largest transit agency, the Utah Transit Authority provides a much needed transportation alternative to the most populated area in our state. Fifteen years ago, UTA had no rail transit but today operates 140 miles of passenger rail along the Wasatch Front.  In 2013, the agency recorded the highest ridership in its history with more than 44 million boardings. The increased ridership came on the heels of delivering major capital projects ahead of schedule and under budget, just like a business.

Corporate Partner of the Year Award: The Hilton Salt Lake City Center and the General Manager, Jeff Protzman

The Hilton Salt Lake City Center is a long-time member of the Salt Lake Chamber. General manager Jeff Protzman and his capable staff are true believers in customer service. Jeff and his team effectively go above and beyond for their guests every day. Recently, the Chamber held an event there and watched as the local and national team members created an amazing event for us on short notice. With their help, the Chamber and our members had a wonderful experience.

Small Business of the Year Award: Bailey Montague

Bailey Montague is a community-minded small business that has been a Salt Lake Chamber for more than 40 years.  The president of Bailey Montague, Rob Ronald, has served on the Chamber’s President’s Ambassador Committee for more than 16 years. Additionally, he has served on the Chamber’s Executive Committee serving both as an ambassador and as president of this group. Bailey Montague has donated their expertise to help many non-profits, including the Chamber. If you talk to Rob, he believes what he gives always comes back.

Congratulations to all of our award recipients! Thank you for making a difference.