Democratic Party Leadership Elections Set

Peter Corroon is running unopposed for another term as head of Utah's Democratic Party.

Corroon is the only candidate who filed for party chair ahead of Friday's deadline. Corroon took over for former Chair Jim Dabakis, who resigned for health reasons in 2014. He has a tough task ahead of him in his first full-term as chair. The number of Democrats in the Utah State Legislature are near historic lows, and the party has lost ground in the past three elections.
The three other executive positions will be contested at June's party convention. Breanne Miller and Emily Bingham will face off for Vice-Chair. That position is currently held by Josie Valdez, who is not running for another term.
Ernie Gamonal and Marcus Stevenson are the candidates for party secretary. Breanne Miller is the current office holder but will be vacating the post to run for vice-chair.
Zach Robinson and Celina Milner are in the mix for party treasurer. Robinson unsuccessfully ran for the state legislature in 2014 while Milner lost her bid for the state House in 2012. They are vying to replace Rep. Brian King.
The elections are set for the Democratic state convention on June 13 at Park City High School