Nominees Announced for 3rd District Court Vacancy

The 3rd District Judicial Nominating Commission has selected nominees for a vacancy on the 3rd District Court.  

The vacancy results from the confirmation of Judge Deno Himonas to the Utah Supreme Court, Feb. 13, 2015.  The 3rd Judicial District includes Salt Lake, Summit and Tooele counties.    

The nominees for the vacancy are: Heather Brereton, misdemeanor division chief, trial attorney, Salt Lake Legal Defender Association; Robert Hughes, senior counsel, Utah Transit Authority, adjunct law professor, S.J. Quinney College of Law; James Gilson, attorney, shareholder, Callister Nebeker & McCullough; Janise Macanas, assistant attorney general, special prosecutions director, Utah Attorney General’s Office; Adam Mow, attorney, shareholder, Jones Waldo Holbrook & McDonough, PC.

Written comments can be submitted to the 3rd District Judicial Nominating Commission Chair Jack Wixom at [email protected]or Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice, P.O. Box 142330, Salt Lake City, UT 84114-2330. The deadline for written comments is noon July 6, 2015. The Nominating Commission may request further information or conduct an investigation of the nominees after reviewing public comments. After the public comment period, the names will be sent to Gov. Gary R. Herbert, who will have 30 days to make an appointment. Gov. Herbert’s appointee is subject to confirmation by the Utah Senate.