U.S. Chamber Recognizes Utah’s Congressional Delegation for Pro-Business Votes

This past month, the U.S. Chamber of Commerce released its How They Voted scorecard, an effort that began 50 years ago, and honored all four Utah members of the House of Representatives which include Congressmen Rob Bishop, Christ Stewart and Jason Chaffetz and Congresswoman Mia Love, as well as Senator Orrin G. Hatch with its annual Spirit of Enterprise Award, given in recognition of their support of pro-growth, pro-jobs policies during the second session of the 113th Congress.

“This recognition shows that the best state for business has superior representation in our nation’s capital. Last year, Congress advanced key priorities for the business community and our delegation was a focal point for success,” said Lane Beattie, president and CEO of the Salt Lake Chamber. “The influence that each member of Utah’s delegation has on key national issues gives our state an outsized impact. On behalf of Utah’s business leaders, I just want to express how fortunate and thankful we are to have their leadership and support.”

The U.S. Chamber’s prestigious Spirit of Enterprise Award is given annually to members of Congress based on their votes on critical business legislation outlined in the Chamber publication, How They Voted. Members who supported the Chamber’s position on at least 70% of those votes qualify to receive the award.

During the second session of the 113th Congress, the Chamber scored members on eight Senate votes and 14 House votes, including terrorism risk insurance (TRIA), tax extenders, and the “CRomnibus.” Also scored were votes to ensure free speech, fund transportation and infrastructure, and to further U.S. energy independence.

Senator Hatch led Utah’s delegation with a 92% voting record, followed by Congresswoman Love and Congressman Bishop (75%), and Congressmen Chaffetz and Stewart (70%).

The Salt Lake Chamber also recognizes state legislators with the prestigious “Business Champion” award annually. The awards, along with the 2016 Legislative Scorecard, will be released next Wednesday, May 18, 2016.