Gov. Spencer J. Cox appointed to President Biden’s Council of Governors

President Biden announced Gov. Spencer J. Cox as one of nine governors named to the Council of Governors, a bipartisan group of governors committed to strengthening ties between federal and state governments on matters of homeland security. 

“We’re grateful for this appointment that gives Utah a seat at the table, particularly with respect to disaster preparedness and response as well as best use of the National Guard,” Gov. Cox said. “I look forward to engaging with my fellow governors and President Biden as we serve our state and the nation.”

Other members of the President’s Council of Governors include Ohio Gov. Mike DeWine, Co-Chair; Minnesota Gov. Tim Walz, Co-Chair; Delaware Gov. John Carney; Louisiana Gov. John Bel Edwards; Michigan Gov. Gretchen Whitmer; Oregon Gov. Kate Brown; Utah Gov. Spencer Cox; Vermont Gov. Phil Scott; and Wyoming Gov. Mark Gordon. The nine governors will join Tennessee Gov. Bill Lee on the council. Gov. Lee’s term expires in 2022.