Utah Independent Redistricting Commission and Coalition of Utah Mayors and political leaders plead for public’s involvement in redistricting process

WHAT:             On the heels of the 2020 census data release, the Utah Independent Redistricting Commission (UIRC) and a coalition of Utah Mayors, as well as the Chairs of both Utah Republican and Democratic Parties will gather Monday to highlight the importance of the public’s participation in Utah’s ongoing redistricting process. At the event, the UIRC will demonstrate its new interactive website, including how Utahns can explore the 2020 census data, submit formal comments and ideas on redistricting and even create and submit their own recommended maps.


  • Rex Facer, UIRC Chair
  • Carson Jorgensen – Chair Utah Republican Party
  • Jeff Merchant – Chair Utah Democratic Party
  • Mayor Debbie Winn – Tooele City
  • Mayor Cherie Wood – South Salt Lake City
  • Mayor Michelle Kaufusi – Provo City
  • Mayor Kristie Overson – Taylorsville City
  • Mayor Trent Staggs – Riverton City
  • Mayor Robert Hales – Midvale City
  • Mayor Ron Bigalow – West Valley City
  • Mayor Dirk Burton – West Jordan
  • Mayor Jenny Wilson – Salt Lake County
  • Chairman Glenn Wright – Summit County
  • Chairman Bob Stevenson – Davis County
  • Councilmember Shields – Herriman

WHEN:                Monday, August 16, 2021

                              10 – 11 a.m.

WHERE:           Taylorsville State Office Building

4315 2700 W

Taylorsville, UT 84129