Nominees announced for 2nd District Court vacancy

The 2nd District Judicial Nominating Commission has selected nominees for a vacancy on the 2nd District Court. 

The vacancy results from the retirement of Judge Mark DeCaria, April 15, 2019. The 2nd Judicial District includes Davis, Morgan, and Weber counties.  

The nominees for the vacancy are: Bryce Froerer, attorney/shareholder, Froerer & Miles, P.C.;  T.R. Morgan, commissioner, Second District Court; Brandon Poll, criminal division chief, Davis County Attorney’s Office; Reuben Renstrom, justice court judge, South Ogden Justice Court, South Weber Justice Court, Harrisville Justice Court, Riverdale Justice Court, Woods Cross Justice Court; J.C. Ynchausti, justice court judge, Davis County Justice Court.

Written comments can be submitted to the 2nd District Judicial Nominating Commission Chair Mark Johnson at [email protected] or Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice, P.O. Box 142330, Salt Lake City, UT 84114-2330.  The deadline for written comments is noon Feb. 19, 2019. The Nominating Commission may request further information or conduct an investigation of the nominees after reviewing public comments.  After the public comment period, the names will be sent to Gov. Gary R. Herbert, who will have 30 days to make an appointment. Gov. Herbert’s appointee is subject to confirmation by the Utah Senate.