Utah Science and Math Teachers named Finalists for Presidential Teaching Award

Seven Utah educators have been named state finalists for the 2016 Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching.

The elementary mathematics finalists are:

  • Jennifer Bodell, Neil Armstrong Academy, Granite School District
  • Carrie Caldwell, Riley Elementary, Salt Lake City School District
  • Julie Christensen, Neil Armstrong Academy, Granite School District
  • ·Nancy Stewart, Edith Bowen Laboratory School, Charter School in Logan, Utah

The elementary science finalists are:

  • Kristina Kaly, Rose Park Elementary, Salt Lake City School District
  • Karre Nevarez, Westfield Elementary, Alpine School District
  • Cayme Olsen, Shadow Valley Elementary, Ogden City School District

Each year, a national panel of distinguished scientists, mathematicians, and educators recommends up to 108 teachers to receive the Presidential Awards, the nation’s highest honors for K-12 mathematics and science (including computer science) teaching. The award recognizes teachers who develop and implement a high-quality instructional program that is informed by content knowledge and enhances student learning.

The national selection panel will review the finalists’ applications and select one math teacher and one science teacher from each of the 50 states and four U.S. jurisdictions.

The two selected as Utah PAEMST awardees will receive a certificate signed by the President of the United States, a paid trip for two to Washington, D.C., to attend a series of recognition events and professional development opportunities, and a $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation.