Utah Gov. Gary Herbert becomes CSG 2018 national president

Utah Gov. Gary Herbert will lead The Council of State Governments as the 2018 national president. The CSG Executive Committee confirmed his role on Saturday, Dec. 16 during the CSG 2017 National Conference in Las Vegas, Nevada. 

“As CSG president, it will be my goal to enhance collaboration between the three branches of each state’s government by continuing to facilitate conversations about intergovernmental efficiency and communication best practices,” Herbert said. “I want to continue to provide innovative formats for states to share best practices on all subjects, and between all levels of government.”

Herbert became Utah’s 17th governor in August 2009. Prior to taking that oath of office, Herbert served as lieutenant governor for five years. As Utah’s chief executive, one of Herbert’s priorities has been leading Utah’s recovery from the Great Recession. His efforts on economic development include attracting businesses and investment to the state while helping homegrown businesses flourish.

Herbert previously served as chair of the National Governors Association, where he focused on highlighting state-based solutions while enhancing a collaborative state-federal partnership.

Joining Herbert on the leadership team are Kentucky Senate President Robert Stivers, who will serve as the national chair; Delaware state Rep. Helene Keeley, the chair-elect; and Wisconsin state Rep. Joan Ballweg, the vice chair.

“State officials trust CSG because our priorities are their priorities,” CSG Executive Director/CEO David Adkins said. “CSG’s national officers lead the work of CSG, bringing together all three branches of state governments to advance the common good. Our slate of officers for 2018 represent a talented, bipartisan cross section of the dedicated public servants who govern the states. They bring remarkable energy and proven leadership to their roles with CSG.”