Central Wasatch Commission announces advisory stakeholder council membership

At its regular public meeting on December 3rd, 2018, The Central Wasatch Commission took action to appoint the initial members of the CWC Stakeholder Council.

The Stakeholder Council, mandated by the CWC Interlocal Agreement, will act in an advisory capacity to the CWC board, and will include 35 stakeholders. The Stakeholder Council represents a diverse array of interests relating to the Central Wasatch Mountains, including community organizations, environmental groups, ski resorts, residents and property owners, and the general public. “We were thrilled to receive over 100 applications for the Stakeholder Council.” said Chris McCandless, Chair, Central Wasatch Commission and Sandy City Councilman. “The quality of applicants and the balance of interests in this newly formed advisory council will serve to inform and improve the commission’s work.”

Below are the names (listed from A-Z by first name) appointed to the Stakeholder Council:

  1. Annalee Munsey – Assistant GM, Metropolitan Water District of Salt Lake and Sandy

  2. Barbara Cameron – Chair, Big Cottonwood Community Council Chair, Brighton Resident

  3. Bill Malone – President & CEO, Park City Chamber/Convention & Visitors Bureau

  4. Brian Hutchinson – Salt Lake City Resident

  5. Carl Fisher – Executive Director, Save Our Canyons

  6. Carolyn Wawra – Executive Director, Recycle Utah

  7. Dan Knopp – Owner, Silver Fork Lodge

  8. Dave Fields – President and GM, Snowbird Ski Resort

  9. Del Draper – President, Cecret Lake Cabin Owners Association

  10. Don Despain – General Manager, Big Cottonwood Canyon Improvement District

  11. Dr. Kelly Bricker – Director, Parks, Recreation & Tourism, University of Utah

  12. Ed Marshall – Owner, Log Haven Restaurant

  13. Greg Summerhays – President & CEO, Sandy Area Chamber of Commerce

  14. Jan Striefel – League of Utah Women Voters

  15. John Knoblock – Mt Olympus Community Council Member, Chair, Trails Utah,

  16. Julia Geisler – Executive Director, Salt Lake Climbers Alliance

  17. Kirk Nichols – President, USFS Evergreen HOA, Professor of Outdoor Recreation, University of Utah

  18. Kurt Hegmann – Mill D Cabin Owners Association Representative

  19. Matt Kirkegaard – Salt Lake City Resident

  20. Megan Nelson – External Affairs Associate, The Nature Conservancy

  21. Mike Maughan – President and GM, Alta Ski Area

  22. Michael Marker – Little Cottonwood Canyon Resident

  23. Michael Braun – Chair, Granite Community Council

  24. Nathan Rafferty – President & CEO, Ski Utah

  25. Patrick Shea – Salt Lake City Resident

  26. Paul Diegel – Special Projects Director, Utah Avalanche Center

  27. Randy Doyle – General Manager, Brighton Ski Resort

  28. Sarah Bennett – Executive Director, Trails Utah

  29. Serena Anderson – Executive Director, Cottonwood Canyons Foundation

  30. Stetson West – Utah Backcountry Hunters and Anglers

  31. Steve Issowits- Director of Resort Planning, Solitude Mountain Resort and Deer Valley

  32. Tom Diegel – Board Member, Wasatch Backcountry Alliance

  33. Troy Morgan – Brighton Resident

  34. Wayne Crawford – President, Cardiff Canyon Owners Association

  35. Will McCarvill – Chair, Utah Sierra Club Chapter

The Stakeholder Council will function to assist the CWC board and staff in their decision making, providing expertise, opinions, and resources. The Stakeholder Council may gather information, conduct fact-finding, counsel together, provide analysis, conduct feasibility studies, and otherwise collaborate with broader constituencies with interests in the Central Wasatch Mountains in order to make suggestions, recommendations and proposals to the CWC Board and the Commission’s staff.

All Council members will serve four-year terms ending on June 30th; however, at the first meeting of the Stakeholder Council, half of the Council members will be assigned a two-year term by the Chair. At the January 7th, 2019 public meeting, the CWC Board will select a Council Chair and Vice Chair, who will serve two-year terms in their respective roles. There are not term limits for Council members.

As a condition of being appointed, Stakeholder Council members agree to support a consensus-based process for issues impacting the CWC’s area, share information, and collaborate with other stakeholder council members.