Utah Taxpayers Association releases 2019 legislative scorecard


The Utah Taxpayers Association has released its 2019 Legislative Scorecard. This year the Association’s annual scorecard ranks Utah’s 104 legislators on 14 crucial taxpayer related bills from the 2019 legislative session. The bills that were rated covered key taxpayer issues such as cutting taxes, preventing tax increases, promoting equity in Utah’s tax code and ensuring economic success in the state for years to come.

Legislators voting no more than once against the Taxpayers position earn the distinction of “Friend of the Taxpayer” from the Association. 11 House members and 6 Senators earned the honor for this year.

“Legislators faced many tax issues this session and voted on bills that will affect the burden of Utah taxpayers. We are grateful that House and Senate leadership decided to pause tax modernization efforts in order to study the issue more in depth and to take input from business leaders and the public as a whole. Had HB 441 passed in its original form, Utah’s economic landscape would have been ruined and it would have taken decades to recover from it,” said Rusty Cannon, Vice President of the Utah Taxpayers Association. “We hope the public takes notice of these legislators and thanks them for defending fiscally conservative principles at the state capitol.”

The entire 2019 Scorecard can be viewed at: www.UtahTaxpayers.org.

2019 “Friend of the Taxpayer” Recipients:
House of Representatives

Norm Thurston – 100% (R – Provo)

Kim Coleman – 100% (R – West Jordan)

Tim Hawkes – 100% (R – Centerville)

John Knotwell – 91.7% (R – Herriman)

Susan Pulsipher – 91.7% (R – South Jordan)

Mark Strong – 90.9% (R – Bluffdale)

Walt Brooks – 90.9% (R – St. George)

Phil Lyman – 90.0% (R – Blanding)

Jeff Moss – 90.0% (R – Saratoga Springs)

Brad Last – 87.5% (R – Hurricane)

Brad Wilson – 85.7% (R – Kaysville)     



Curt Bramble – 100% (R – Provo)

Todd Weiler – 91.7% (R-Woods Cross)

Lincoln FIllmore – 90.9% (R – South Jordan)

Kirk Cullimore – 90.9% (R – Sandy)

Dan Thatcher – 90.0% (R – West Valley)

Daniel Hemmert – 88.9% (R – Orem)