‘Governor’s Excellence in Energy Awards’ Winners Announced at Third Annual Governor’s Energy Development Summit

Last week, at his third annual Governor’s Energy Development Summit, Gov. Gary R. Herbert honored three energy leaders for their contributions to the advancement of responsible energy development in the state.

 Intermountain Healthcare was named “Energy Community Leader of the Year,” Enel Green Power North America was named “Energy Innovator of the Year,” and Burton Lumber was named “Energy Environmental Leader of the Year.”

“Energy Community Leader of the Year,” Intermountain Healthcare 

Intermountain Healthcare has adopted a series of energy conservation initiatives, including the creation of both an energy management program and an active Sustainability Council, and the hosting of an annual internal Energy Symposium.  Intermountain Healthcare’s energy management program has reduced energy costs by almost ten percent since its inception in 2008.

“Energy Innovator of the Year,” Enel Green Power North America, Inc.

Enel Green Power North America recently built a new 25 megawatt geothermal plant near Cove Fort, the largest Utah geothermal plant in to be constructed in three decades.  The state-of-the-art, closed-loop binary cycle facility is located on one the largest thermal anomalies in North America, and the company plans significant capacity expansions at the site in the coming years.

“Energy Environmental Leader of the Year,” Burton Lumber

Burton Lumber just completed a 4.5 acre distributed generation solar facilities on the roof of its Salt Lake City location.  The facility is the largest Utah-based, privately-owned solar array in the state.  Burton Lumber is also actively engaged in a Reduce, Reuse, Recycle program across its seven locations.

The Summit, which is now the largest energy summit in the Intermountain West, hosted over 1,200 attendees from four countries and over 20 states.  Over 380 organizations participated in the event.  Morning and afternoon plenary sessions featured Governor Gary R. Herbert, industry leaders, and keynote speaker Ted Nordhaus of the Breakthrough Institute, and 16 break-out sessions featured over 85 energy experts from around the country.