Chamber Honors Board Chair, Chamber Champions and Outstanding Partners at 127th Annual Meeting

The Salt Lake Chamber celebrated its past, present and future by honoring the legends of Utah’s business community at the 127th Annual Meeting.

“The Salt Lake Chamber brings together dedicated businesses and talented people to make our economy stronger,” said Lane Beattie, president and CEO of the Salt Lake Chamber. “Our honorees have risen to the top in business and this was a great opportunity for us to thank them for their tireless commitment to make our state the best place to do business.”

The Chamber honored Bailey Montague & Associates as the 2014 Small Business of the Year. Bailey Montague is a community-minded small business that has been a Salt Lake Chamber member for more than 40 years.  The president of Bailey Montague, Rob Ronald, has served on the Chamber’s President’s Ambassador Committee for more than 16 years. Additionally, he has served on the Chamber’s Executive Committee serving both as an ambassador and as president of this group. Bailey Montague has donated their expertise to help many non-profits, including the Chamber. If you talk to Rob, he believes what he gives always comes back.

Hilton Salt Lake City Center was honored as the 2014 Corporate Partner of the Year. The Hilton Salt Lake City Center is a long-time member of the Salt Lake Chamber. General manager Jeff Protzman and his capable staff are true believers in customer service. Jeff and his team effectively go above and beyond for their guests every day. Recently, the Chamber held an event and watched as the local and national team members created an amazing experience for the Chamber and its members with very short notice.

Utah Transit Authority was honored as the 2014 President’s Award for Excellence. As Utah’s largest transit agency, the Utah Transit Authority provides a much needed transportation alternative to the most populated area in our state. Fifteen years ago, UTA had no rail transit but today operates 140 miles of passenger rail along the Wasatch Front.  In 2013, the agency recorded the highest ridership in its history with more than 44 million boardings. The increased ridership came on the heels of delivering major capital projects ahead of schedule and under budget, just like a business.

Chamber Champions

In addition to the Outstanding Corporate Partners, the Chamber honored six as Chamber Champions. Abby Albrecht of Granite Construction Company, Camilla Edsberg of Hope Gallery and Museum of Fine Art, Jonathan Hafen of Parr Brown Gee & Loveless, Debra Hoyt of Questar Corporation and Jonathan Johnson of were selected for their individual contributions to the success of the Salt Lake Chamber.

The Annual Meeting was presented by Questar. Major sponsor was Wells Fargo. Event sponsors include America First Credit Union, Mountain America Credit Union, Holland & Hart, Avalanche Studios, EnergySolutions, Rocky Mountain Power, WCF and Webb Audio Visual.