Bob Costas to Give Free Public Lecture in Salt Lake City Saturday, April 18

Bob Costas, Emmy Award-winning Journalist, eight-time National Sportscaster of the Year, and Olympic commentator, will discuss “Journalism’s Role in the Changing Perceptions and Policies in Collegiate and Professional Sports," Saturday, April 18, 2015, 7:00 PM at Rowland Hall, Philip G. McCarthey Campus, 720 Guardsman Way in Salt Lake City. 

Doors open at 6:00 PM. Seating is first-come, first-seated.The Lecture is open to the public at no charge.
Bob Costas has won 25 Emmy awards—more than any sports broadcaster. His peers named him the “National Sportscaster of the Year” a record eight times, and in 2012, he was elected to the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Hall of Fame. Bob won the Walter Cronkite Award for distinction in journalism in 2012. 
The 2014 Sochi Olympics were Bob’s eleventh for NBC. He has hosted six Super Bowls and has served as either play-by-play announcer or host of seven World Series and ten NBA Finals. 
Bob has been a prominent part of NBC’s presentations of major events, such as the Kentucky Derby and the U.S. Open 
Golf Championship. 
Bob’s book, “Fair Ball, a Fan’s Case for Baseball”, made the New York Times 2002 best seller list. He currently hosts NBC’s “Football Night in America” and NBC’s prime-time Olympic coverage. “Costas Tonight” reprises the issue-oriented town hall format on the NBC Sports Network. Additionally, Bob has returned to his first love, baseball, on the Major League Baseball Network. 
The McCarthey Family Foundation Annual Lecture Series:
In Praise of Independent Journalism celebrates its tenth year at this lecture. Honoring a commitment initiated by their great-grandfather United States Senator Thomas Kearns, who purchased The Salt Lake Tribune in 1901, and the request of their father, Thomas K. McCarthey, to cultivate a “lasting legacy for an independent press,” today’s Trustees have established this public forum. In recognition of the vital role an independent press plays in a true democracy, the lecture series, “In Praise of Independent Journalism” was established to examine the role an independent press plays in a democracy as seen through the prism of each distinguished lecturer’s perspective. 
Past public lectures featured the following speakers:
2006 Helen Thomas 
2007 Arianna Huffington 
2008 Anderson Cooper 
2009 Daniel Schorr
2 010 Ingrid Betancourt 
2 011 Chris Matthews
2012 Doris Kearns Goodwin 
2013 Madeleine K. Albright 
2014 David Axelrod