Gov. Herbert Makes Appointments to Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control

Gov. Gary R. Herbert has appointed S. Neal Berube and Amanda Smith to the Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission.

“Neal and Amanda will be great assets to the Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission,” said Gov. Herbert. “The commission will greatly benefit from Neal’s expertise in retail management and Amanda’s legislative and agency experience.”  

Smith was recently hired by law firm Holland & Hart practicing in the Environment, Energy and Natural Resources practice. Prior to joining Holland & Hart, she served as head of the Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) for six years.

Berube is the president and CEO of Associated Food Stores (AFS), and independent retailer-owned food distributor in Salt Lake City. He previously served as vice president of AFS and president of Fresh Market, Inc.

Subject to confirmation by the Utah Senate, Smith will replace Constance White as a member of the commission, and Berube will replace David Gladwell. Both terms will expire July 1, 2019. Per state statute, Smith is a registered Democrat in the state of Utah and Berube is a registered Republican.