Salt Lake City Elected Officials Take Oath of Office

Mayor Jackie Biskupski, re-elected City Council Member Charlie Luke and two new Council Members, Andrew Johnston and Derek Kitchen, were sworn into office at noon on Monday, Jan. 4, 2016 at the Salt Lake City & County Building, 451 South State Street.

“It is a great honor to again serve the residents of my District and the City for another term,” said Council Member Luke, the District 6 representative sworn into his second, 4-year term. “ I’m excited to carry on with our current agenda, and find new ways to make Salt Lake City an even better place.”  The oath of office ceremony was held outside on the east steps of the City & County Building. 

“I’m proud to represent the interests of the City’s Westside,” said Council Member Johnston, the District 2 representative sworn into his first term. “All of our City is a great place to live, work and play.”  The West High JROTC Honor Guard, vocalist Emilee Floor, and the Calvary Baptist Church choir took part in the program.

“The downtown is the beating heart for all of Utah,” said Council Member Kitchen, the District 4 representative  also sworn into his first term. “I am eager to get to work addressing the challenges, such as sustainability, economic development and equity, that our growing city faces in the coming years.”

Biskupski begins her first term in office as SLC’s sixth mayor since the City switched to the current system of government.